North Central Region of Nigeria – A Guide to its Zip Codes

North Central Region of Nigeria is a vibrant and culturally diverse part of the country, comprising several states that play a significant role in the nation’s socio-economic landscape. In this article, we will explore the North Central zip codes, shedding light on this fascinating region and making it easier for you to navigate postal services and locate specific areas.

So, let’s get started on a journey through the North Central region of Nigeria, one zip code at a time.

For better understanding of Nigerian Zip Codes, or postal codes, are numerical codes assigned to specific geographical areas to facilitate efficient mail sorting and delivery. They help postal services organize and categorize destinations, making it easier to identify locations across the country. 

In Nigeria, zip codes are six-digit numbers that play a crucial role in postal services, courier deliveries, and even online purchases. 

The North Central region of Nigeria is known for its rich cultural heritage, a mix of urban and rural communities and historical landmarks. 

It includes states such as Benue, Plateau, Kogi, Nasarawa, Niger, and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Abuja. Each of these states has its unique zip code, which we will explore in more detail below.

states of North Central Region of Nigeria
states of North Central Region of Nigeria

7 States of North Central Region of Nigeria

1. Benue State (Zip Code: 970)

Benue State, often referred to as the “Food Basket of the Nation,” located in the heart of Nigeria. Its capital city, Makurdi, is home to the zip code 970. This state is famous for its agricultural activities, diverse ethnic groups, and beautiful landscapes.

4.  Nasarawa State (Zip Code: 962)

Nasarawa State, with the zip code 962, is adjacent to the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja. This state is known for its agricultural activities, natural resources, and proximity to the nation’s capital.

7. Kwara State, Nigeria( zip code: 240)

 This code is used as a prefix for various areas, towns, and localities within Kwara State when sending mail or parcels. However, for more specific locations within Kwara State, you may need to use additional digits to create a unique postal code.

2. Plateau State (Zip Code: 930)

Plateau State, with the zip code 930, is known for its picturesque landscapes, serene weather, and the city of Jos, which serves as its capital. Jos is often called the “Home of Peace and Tourism” due to its peaceful coexistence among diverse ethnic groups.

5. Niger State (Zip Code: 920)

Niger State, with the zip code 920, is the largest state in the North Central region. Its capital, Minna, is a hub of commerce and government activities. The state is blessed with diverse cultures and natural attractions.

3. Kogi State (Zip Code: 260)

Kogi State, located in central Nigeria, boasts the zip code 260. Its capital, Lokoja, is situated at the confluence of the Niger and Benue Rivers. The state is characterized by its historical significance, with several landmarks tracing the history of Nigeria’s colonial era.

 6. Abuja (FCT) (Zip Code: 900)

Abuja,is the capital of Nigeria, which is located within the Federal Capital Territory (FCT). The zip code 900 covers the entire FCT, which includes the city of Abuja and its surrounding areas. Abuja is Nigeria’s administrative and political center, known for its modern infrastructure and diplomatic presence.